Research

Contact

Philippe Bouyer &  Pierre Chavel
Head of Research
Tél 33 5 40 00 37 94 / 33 1 64 53 33 03

Research is one of the cornerstones of Institut d’Optique Graduate School. The research we conduct ranks among the best in the world and spans all areas related to optics, from the most fundamental research to the most applied, from atom optics to biophotonics, from quantum information to nanophotonics.

Our key research teams work at two facilities. The first is Laboratoire Charles Fabry (LCF), a research laboratory operated jointly with CNRS (France's National Centre for Scientific Research) on our Palaiseau campus. The second is on the Orsay campus of Université de Paris-Sud and made available through a partnership. A third team, known as ERIS, conducts research on vision at Université Jean Monnet's Laboratoire Hubert Curien in Saint-Etienne. In 2011 a new laboratory has opened in Bordeaux in partnership with Université de Bordeaux 1. This laboratory, the LP2N (Laboratoire de photonique, numérique et nano sciences) develops new areas of research at the interface between photonics and virtual and augmented reality.

Institut d’Optique Graduate School is also involved in research at Extreme Light Infrastructure (ELI), which is working on building the world's most powerful laser.

What is optics?

optique1

Optics is the field of science and the area of economic activity encompassing the physical phenomena and technologies associated with the generation, transmission, manipulation, detection, and utilisation of light. It extends on both sides of the visible part of the electromagnetic spectrum as far as the same concepts apply.

Read

recherche

Contact

Philippe Bouyer (Bordeaux) &  Patrick Georges (Palaiseau)
Directeurs des laboratoires
Tél 05 57 01 72 00 / 01 64 53 34 26

La recherche est un des piliers de l’Institut d'Optique Graduate School. Cette recherche située au meilleur niveau international a vocation à couvrir toutes les thématiques en relation avec l’optique, du plus fondamental au plus appliqué, de l’optique atomique à la biophotonique, de l’information quantique à la nanophotonique, …

Les principales forces sont actuellement situées au sein du Laboratoire Charles Fabry (LCF), unité mixte avec le CNRS et en partenariat avec l'Université de Paris-Sud, sur les campus de Palaiseau et Orsay. Mais une équipe (ERIS) est également implantée à Saint-Étienne au sein du Laboratoire Hubert Curien, avec un accent mis sur la vision. Depuis 2011, un nouveau laboratoire a été créé à Bordeaux, le Laboratoire Photonique, Numérique et Nanosciences (LP2N), en partenariat avec l’Université de Bordeaux 1. Ce laboratoire développe notamment de nouvelles thématiques à l’interface de la photonique et de la réalité virtuelle et augmentée.

L’Institut d'Optique Graduate School est également impliqué dans l’Institut de la Lumière Extrême qui a pour but de construire le laser le plus puissant au monde.

Qu'est ce que l'optique ?

optique1

L'optique : une science, une technologie, un métier !
L'optique est à la fois la branche de la science et le domaine d'activité économique qui recouvrent l'ensemble des phénomènes et technologies associés à l'émission, la transmission, la manipulation, la détection et l'utilisation de la lumière.

Read

Publications

Les publications scientifiques, les thèses, les conférences et les séminaires de l'Institut d'Optique Graduate School sont à présent disponibles sur le portail des archives ouvertes HAL-IOGS.

Read